Seek Justice??

Alrighty so God’s really laid a verse on my heart and it’s kind of been resonating in my head. Micah 6:8 is a verse many of us may have heard or if you’re like me have seen it on Pinterest and what not, but as I got to thinking about it, I realized I didn’t truly know what the verse was saying.

The NIV version of the verse is, “He has shown you, O mortal, what is good. And what does the Lord require of you? To act justly and to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God.”

I recalled hearing this is a song as well, “Courageous” by Casting Crowns. The song states “seek justice, love mercy, walk humbly with your God.” I watched a movie one night not too long ago called “One Nation Under God” that also touched on this verse. It was one of those that I stumbled upon on Netflix one night, but SO glad I did because it is amazing-seriously look it up! The movie quoted this verse and focused on it a few times and I haven’t really been able to get it out of my head since, so I started this study to figure out what in the world God’s telling us to do here. SEEK justice, LOVE mercy, and walk HUMBLY with God?? Not 100% what that means, but for the next three weeks I’m going to figure it out, each week really digging in and studying one-beginning with seeking/acting just and I’ll share what I’m finding and what God’s showing me with yall.

For starters, I looked up what justice was and some verses where the Bible talks about justice. According to Merriam-Webster dictionary, justice is the maintenance and administration of what is just, especially by the impartial adjustment of conflicting claims or the assignment of merited rewards or punishments, or quality of being just, impartial, or fair. Another definition stated that it was the principle or ideal of just dealing or right action: conformity to this principle or ideal: righteousness. The definition of righteousness according to ole Mr. Webster is acting in accord with divine or moral law: free from guilt or sin.

From this I gathered that justice is putting impartiality and fairness into practice because it is what a divine being (the big man upstairs) has instructed us to do so, regardless of what good or bad may come to us. I found it really interesting that Merriam-Webster specially linked righteousness with justice and that their definition of righteousness included being free from guilt or sin. As I dig in more this week to the verses and what it means to ACT and SEEK justice, I’ll provide verses, but tonight I’ll just leave yall with Micah 6:8 to stew over and Isaiah 1:17 that states a similar command.

No, O people, the Lord has told you what is good, and this is what he requires of you: to do what is right, to love mercy, and to walk humbly with your God. -Micah 6:8 (NLT)

Learn to do good. Seek justice. Help the oppressed. Defend the cause of orphans. Fight for the rights of widows. -Isaiah 1:17 (NLT)

2 responses to “Seek Justice??

Leave a Reply

