Seek Justice?? Part 2: Seeking Justice Today

Hey peeps! Grab yourself something to drink, kick back in your favorite chair, and getcha self ready for a lonngg post and a look into the more application side of my lil study!

In continuation of this week long study of justice and what it means to do justice, I started digging into different scripture and looking up verses about two of today’s biggest political and social topics in America: homosexuality and abortion. These two topics these past two weeks have been really hitting the news big time, right about the time I started studying justice-coincidence?? I think NOT, ding ding ding God thing yall! Recently, there have been more changes to our country than ever before and it seems to be a never ending battle. Politically I am classified by government terms as “Republican” or “Conservative”. I strongly dislike politics and would pretty much rather discuss anything else, but as I’ve gotten into college, I’ve seen the importance of paying attention to what is going on in government and that political discussions come up frequently. Thankfully I go to a school where I am usually surrounded by people with similar beliefs. With everything politically and socially, I use the Bible as the basis of my beliefs and follow whatever the it says about the topic at hand.

The popular notion of today is free choice, equality and that everyone should have the freedom to do what they feel is right. On the surface this sounds great and I’m all for everyone being treated equally, but as you look beneath the surface, therein lies the problem. Today’s popular beliefs are somewhat selfish and focused on the individual, not society as a whole. It focuses on what is right and just for that particular person at hand, not everyone or what is just plain right in general. For example, with homosexuality, the Bible specifically discusses what it is and that it is considered a sin. Today, it is portrayed as normal and ok, it is even encouraged for people to explore whether they are homosexual or not. I don’t know if it is a choice or really is a chemical imbalance and how people are born. After looking up some verses about it, I found out more what the Bible has to say about it (Leviticus 18:22, Mark 10:6-9). Going along with this though, yes, the Bible does say that homosexuality is a “detestable sin”, BUT so are other things-1 Corinthians 6:9-11, Hebrews 13:1-25, 1 Timothy 1:10.

What is our job as Christians when it comes to homosexuality? I believe it is to pray for those dealing with this AND love them just the same. The Bible directly states how we need to love others just as he loves us (John 13:34, 1 John 4:7-12, Proverbs 17:17, 1 Peter 4:8, Colossians 3:12-15, Ephesians 5:1, John 13:15). I saw a quote on Pinterest that really put this into perspective. It said “Who am I to judge because your sin is different than mine?”. I think this really encompasses what God wants us to do. None of us are perfect, we all have different sins and struggles. We are instructed multiple times to love and forgive regardless, just as God has done for us and that it is not our place to judge others for our sins. With everything going on politically right now, I think our place is to not pass judgment and focus on how homosexuality is a sin, but look past the label and look at the person and befriend and love them. Recently, I was at Ulta (a make-up store for those of you who have never heard of it) getting some make up because there was a sale. I happened to be wearing a Christian t-shirt, and the man working the counter where you check out was gay. After he noticed my shirt, I was treated differently and he was very standoffish to me. Honestly, I don’t blame him, and I feel bad that he felt that way knowing I was a Christian. It shouldn’t be like that. We should be known for how we love and accept people no matter what they believe, not as people who are judgmental or hypocritical. Personally, it is important for people to know where I stand on issues, but I want them to pay even more attention to how I treat them as a person, not which direction I would vote. And frankly, if you’re nice and like to laugh-we’ll get along just fine!!

As far as abortion goes, I do believe it is wrong and I am “Pro-Life”, but until this week I could not have told you exactly what the Bible said about it. While researching, I found the Bible does not directly discuss abortion, but rather discusses birth and conception. While discussing birth and conception, the fetus is referred to as a child from conception and a baby in the womb (Matthew 1:20, Luke 1:41). In Jeremiah 1:5 and Psalm 139: 13-14, the Bible discusses how God formed us in the womb, using human descriptive words to do so, therefore again defining the unborn as people too. Since the Bible defines children in the womb from conception to birth as people, abortion would be considered murder, and the Bible blatantly states murder is a sin and wrong (Exodus 20:13).

With these two major topics at the head of the government’s agenda and with all the changes going on, it is critical we be in prayer for our leaders and our government. Regardless of what one thinks about the people in charge, we are still instructed to be in prayer for them (1 Timothy 2:2). The Bible also states that we must be respectful of what authority has instructed (Romans 13:1, 1 Peter 2:13 and 17, Ecclesiastes 10:20). All authority figures were put in place by God (John 19:10-11) and even if we might disagree with decisions they are making it is all part of God’s purpose. In Jeremiah 29:11, it states that God has a plan for all of us, a plan for us to prosper. The Bible doesn’t say the road getting to us prospering will be all sunshine and rainbows, there will be difficult times, but I think we are in a really unique position as a nation. We are at a such a turning point, but now is a time where we can really let our light shine. Through everything going on, Christians have the opportunity to show love, stand up for our beliefs and lead by example with our faith in God and trusting in His plan. Is everything going on not just on our own soil, but all over the world scary? Yes. Will things be easy? Absolutely not. Will Christians be persecuted? Probably. But none of this is new. There have been times like this all throughout history, like literally back to Bible times.
Now is our chance to really show Christlikeness in all aspects, including not backing down from what God has said to do and showing Christ’s love to everyone!
Challenge accepted!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

