Walk Humbly?? Part Tres: You Lead, I Follow

Control freak. A person who is uber duber controlling of everything and has to be in charge and get their way. Not a generally attractive quality. I have a confession…I have learned I am a control freak of my own life. Not cool yo, not cool! I have a want to be in control of my life as a security blanket, it makes me feel better about things. I want to do what I want to do, and I want what I want to happen in my life. As I’ve grown closer with God these past two years, I’ve loosened the reins and now want to do what God wants me to do buuutttt it’s hard to distinguish what he’s put in my heart and what I’ve put in my head. We’re not supposed to be in control, that’s why things go wacky when we try to control it. God made it that way purposefully. Part of walking humbly with God is humbling ourselves and letting him be the driver, not a backseat driver or right hand man in the passenger seat.

Scripture states several times how we need to let God lead our lives. Isaiah 48:17 states, “This is what the Lord says-your Redeemer, the Holy One of Israel: “I am the Lord your God, who teaches you what is good for you and leads you along the paths you should follow.” Not only does it say that God will lead us, but he will teach us how to live along the way. You know how you have to literally hold a child’s hand and walk them through how to do things when they’re young, well when we are spiritually young as God’s children, he does the same thing. He takes us by the hand and leads us down the path he has divinely planned for us to take. As we see in Jeremiah 29:11, we know that this path will lead to a prosperous and happy life for us. Proverbs 3:5-6 says we need to trust the Lord with all of our hearts, not depend on our own understanding, and seek his will in everything and he will “show you which path to take”. Psalm 25:4-5 again shows how the Lord will point out the road for you to follow and will lead you down that road. In verses 8-9 of that same chapter, it states that “the Lord is good and does what is right; he shows the proper path to those who go astray. He leads the humble in doing right, teaching them his way.” Psalm 37:5 states how we need to commit everything we do to the Lord-yes, even if its something we think that we can do on our own-and trust him and he will help you. The same is then again repeated in Psalm 143:10. Nowhere does it say that any of this will be easy, actually it says that it wont, but the prize in the end will be well worth it as long as a continue and press on for the goal. One of my favorite verses really illustrates this-“I don’t mean to say that I have already achieved these things or that I have already reached perfection. But I press on to possess that perfection for which Christ Jesus first possessed me. No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead. I press on to teach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us.” -Philippians 3:14-14.

I wish you good luck as you press on and loosen the reins and tight grip you have on your own life. God has amazing things in store if you do so, I’ve seen it myself in what little slack I’ve given him. It’s an ongoing struggle of mine and I sometimes get really frustrated when things do not go the way that I wanted them to, but ya know what, God never ceases to amaze me, yes NEVER. Things always work out for the best when he’s in control. Let go and let him lead! Thanks for the read! :]

4 responses to “Walk Humbly?? Part Tres: You Lead, I Follow

    • Cindy I completely agree with you!! It’s so difficult trying to discern which is which. I have a hard time trying to figure out if I want this because this is what I’m supposed to do and what God has put in my heart, or if it is just something that I want to do and it’s not really what God wants me to do.

Leave a Reply

