Seek Justice, Love Mercy, Walk Humbly, and Have the Courage To Do So!

These past few weeks, I have dug into what it means to seek justice, love mercy, and walk humbly with God. Through this I’ve not only learned what they mean, but had a slap in the face at areas I need to improve in. I think now the next step is putting everything I’ve learned into practice and have the courage to go forth in the direction God is giving me.

God has given us the strength to do all of these things and we should have courage in the knowledge of this fact. Joshua 1:9 says, “This is my command-be strong and courageous! So not be afraid or discouraged. For the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” Isaiah 41:10 says, “Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand.” Both of these verses state that we should not be discouraged and that God is with us wherever we may go. 1 Corinthians 16:13 says that we should stand firm in the faith, be strong and courageous and do everything in love. Psalm 24:14 and 31:24 both state that we should be brave and courageous. John 16:33 instructs us to take heart for God has overcome the world. We have been given the strength and capability of living this life through Christ. Probably one of the most known verses (thank ya Mr. Tim Tebow) is Philippians 4:13-I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. After reading over that verse, really look at it and think about it. We can do ALL things through Christ who gives us strength. The Son of God gives us strength?! How completely awesome is that!!ย 2 Timothy 1:7 tells us that God hasn’t given us a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love and self discipline. This shows us we can do this. Through God, we got this yall! 1 Chronicles 16:11 shows us how-“Search for the Lord and for his strength; continually seek him.” Psalm 18:32-34 shows us that God’s given us the skills to live this life.

We were made to be courageous. We were made to be strong in Christ, seek what is right, live and love in the name of his mercy, and walk humbly with God, submitting our lives to him. A verses that has really convicted me and that I simply love is 2 Timothy 4:5 (if you haven’t read 2 Timothy, go give it shot, like right now)-But you should keep a clear mind in every situation. Don’t be afraid of suffering for the Lord. Work at telling others the Good News, and fully carry out the ministry God has given you. We shouldn’t be afraid of living this Bible based, Jesus lovin, Christian life. Each of us has been given a unique ministry-our lives. We each know a different group of people in a way different than anyone else. We each go different places at different times of the day. Every day we should live life waking up and asking, “Ok God, what do you want me to do today?” I am so guilty of not doing. It’s not easy, that’s for sure, but where does it say that it would be easy? Will it always be the popular thing to do? Actually, it’s probably more the unpopular thing to do. But should we care? Nope. Galatians 1:10 says “Obviously, I’m not trying to win the approval of people, but of God. If pleasing people were my goal, I would not be Christ’s servant.” As a people pleaser and someone who hates disappointing people, this is a tough pill to swallow, but what is more important, making everyone happy and not standing out, or sticking out and pleasing God? We need to have the courage to do so, and God has given us this strength and our bravery and faith is drawn from that. We have a God who loves us and has given us the strength and ability to do anything-celebrate that!! Show the world by seeking justice, loving mercy, and walking humbly with God. Let your life be a living, breathing, walking testimony to how awesome God is!

4 responses to “Seek Justice, Love Mercy, Walk Humbly, and Have the Courage To Do So!

  1. Thank you for this reminder!
    This verse from Micah has been one of my favorites for many years. Justice, Mercy and Humility are keys to life and most important, they are keys to our relationship with the Lord.
    One thought I would like to add from my translation (New King James) is “Do justly…” To seek justice is a noble endeavor, however, this is a call to action. We must BE just.
    Please don’t take my comments as criticism. I am impressed with your words and these verses will hold different things for each who read them.
    Sadly, many people look for injustice without considering whether or not their own life reflects justice, mercy and humility… Much less a walk with our Lord.
    Btw, these fingers are pointing at myself.
    God Bless

    • Tim, thank you so much for your encouraging words! This verses has really been laid on my heart lately. Thank you for your input, I completely agree-we must be just. I also have to agree with what you said about people looking for injustice and not reflecting on our own lives, we’re all so quick to point fingers and draw attention away from ourselves and point out what others are doing wrong without taking a careful look at our lives and if we are following through with justice, mercy and humility-myself included. Unfortunately, it’s become human nature. God Bless! :]

  2. You are wise beyond your years! I’m sure it has something to do with having such an awesome mom. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    You are correct, it is human nature. Remember, Adam blamed the woman and even God, when he said ” The woman, whom you gave to me…”

    Well, good night. Thank you for giving me a reason to open my bible tonight. I think I’ll go get this plank out of my eye!

    • Haha it is all thanks to my momma! ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you for the encouragement and commenting, it’s great to hear that my blog is reaching people!!

Leave a Reply

