Discerment?!

Alrighty, so if you are a regular reader, you know I have a lil trouble with discernment. One of the biggest things I feel like I struggle with in my walk with God is figuring out what He’s telling me and when it’s me in head or him in my heart. It’s so hard sometimes distinguishing when it’s God telling us something and when it’s not. I think sometimes when we can’t tell, it’s because it’s not his timing on whatever the situation may be or He’s trying to teach us patience or how to listen. I want to do what God wants me to do, and listening to him as far as obeying is not something I have a problem with, I WANT to hear and obey, I just have trouble hearing him sometimes.

Philippians 1:9-10 states that, “I pray that your love will overflow more and more, and that you will keep growing in knowledge and understanding.” Hebrews 5:14 states that we need spiritual maturity that we achieve through practice to recognize the difference between right and wrong. I think right and wrong can be meant in the literal sense, and right and wrong for your life-for instance, which path to take and which opportunities to take. Proverbs 2:1-5 says, “My child, listen to what I say, and treasure my commands. Tune your ears to wisdom, and concentrate on understanding. Cry out for insight, and ask for understanding. Search for them as you would for silver, seek them like hidden treasure. Then you will understand what it means to fear the Lord, and you will gain knowledge of God.” Take a look at the words used to describe what we need to do and how to do it; we need to be constantly, desperately searching and consistently in the word for answers and understanding. James 1:5 tells us that if we ask for wisdom, God will grant it to us. I think that’s a key element in this equation. We need wisdom for discernment in our lives. Philippians 4:6 says not to worry about anything, but ask God and for everything. Something I am learning about listening to God is that it takes consistency in the word. Psalm 119:105-Your word is a lamp to guide my feet and a light for my path. -illustrates that the word is our guide. You know those commercials for fidelity where the all the people have to do is follow the green line? Every time I see that I think how awesome it would be if everything was that easy, you just follow the yellow brick road…then it dawned on me, we have a yellow brick road! It’s called the B-I-B-L-E, it’s the book for me. As James 1:22 says, we need to not only be a reader of the word, but a doer of the word as well. If we are in the word, doing what it instructs, asking God for wisdom, and reflecting and actively trying to hear what God is telling us then we will know what to do when the time for decision making comes.

Psalm 37:5-7 instructs, “Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you. He will make your innocence radiate like the dawn, and the justice of your cause will shine like the noonday sun. Be still in the presence of the Lord and wait patiently for him to act. Don’t worry about evil people who prosper or fret about their wicked schemes.”  As much of a bummer it is, we need to wait patiently-I think that’s something we often forget about when listening to God, I know I do! We want to know right then and there what God wants us to do and what God’s got planned for us, but maybe we’re not ready to hear it or it’s not lining up with God’s plan that we know just yet. I’ve learned that there’s not one answer about how to know what God’s plan is for you or how to listen to God. If you are in prayer and reading the Word and asking God to take the reigns in your life, then when the time is right, you’ll know what he wants for your life and has planned. Currently I have WAY to many things that I want to do in life, and no idea what God’s got planned for my life or what my future will look like, and oddly enough, I’m ok with that now. I have times when I see people going off and doing awesome things that I sooo badly want to do or be apart of, but for whatever reason, now is not my time yet, my adventure is here and now. Our own minds are our worst enemy when it comes to listening to God. We need to get out of our minds and into focusing on what God wants us to do. This lesson is totally a slap in the face for me and something I am constantly trying to work on.

Thanks for the read! :]

Leave a Reply

