A Better View

So today during my quiet time I read Mark 8:31-38. In this passage, Jesus is with his disciples and he predicts his own death. Peter takes him aside and reprimands him for saying such things. In response, Jesus says, “You are seeing things merely from a human point of view, not from God’s” (verse 33). That got me thinking-how many time do we see things from a mere human perspective or societal perspective and not from God’s?? Do we look at things through Christ given eyes or human eyes?

Later in that passage Jesus states, “If any of you want to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me. If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it. But if you give up your life for my sake and for the sake of the Good News, you will save it” (verse 34-35). It states this same thing again in Matthew 16: 24-26, Luke 9:23, and Galatians 2:20. We must completely do a 360 from our old ways and never go back. Sometimes this is hard because we become accustomed to certain things and it becomes a security blanket and change is difficult. I think sometimes these selfish ways don’t necessarily have to be deemed as “bad” things from a human, societal perspective, but if its taking too much time away from your relationship with God or causing you to be selfish in your walk, then it needs to be reevaluated, like taking time for yourself while not in God’s word or being too consumed with work, school or a social life. These are seen as good things to a human eye, but from God’s perspective, are they helping you grow or are they inhibiting growth and keeping you stagnant with God?

This passage today just really gets my thinking. Am I giving more attention to things that I could be giving up to be gaining something even greater? If so, what are they? Also, am I taking too much of a human perspective when looking at my life and future? Like in the clip above from the movie Soul Surfer, maybe we need to take a step back sometimes and gain some perspective on things. Maybe I need to try and look at things from God’s view-the better view-and just jump in off the deep end already and trust fall into whatever God’s got in store and more than just quote Jeremiah 29:11 to myself to make me feel better but really believe it and live it.

Thanks for the read :] Please comment if any of yall are going through the same or thought similarly/different about the passage! Hope everyone’s having a great day!

Leave a Reply

