No Favorites Here!

I had something slapped in my face today-God does not play favorites.

I opened up my Bible for my quiet time as usual, just flipped it open, really didn’t have anything particular in mind I wanted to read, just asked God to show me something. Well I happened to turn to Acts, skimmed the page, read what I already had underlined to see what stood out to me, and low and behold Acts 10: 34 left a slight impression, nothing too large though. I continued flipping and found myself next in the book of Romans scanning the page once again, and Romans 2:11 stood out because I had a heart next to it.

Acts 10:34-35 –The Peter replied, “I see very clearly that God shows no favoritism. In every nation he accepts those who fear him and do what is right.”
Romans 2: 11–For God does not show favoritism.

Coincidence?! I call that one a God thang.

I went back and read the passage in Acts. In my Bible it was entitles “The Gentiles Hear the Good News” (Acts 10: 34-43). In verse 36 of that passage it describes that there is peace with God through Christ. It then goes into detail of the times and what the people had been witness to and what the apostles had seen and been charged with to do in Christ’s name. It got me thinking, haven’t we all bore witness to the crucifixion and gospel of Christ? According to Ole Merriam Webster, a witness is one who can give a firsthand account of something seen, heard, or experienced or to have a personal knowledge of something. As Christians, we have all heard the gospel and have personal knowledge of Christ, therefore making us witnesses. In turn, as a witness we are told to go and tell people what we have seen. The Great Commission in Matthew 28: 19-20 states, “Therefore go and make disciples of all the nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and the Holy Spirit. Teach these new disciples to obey all the commands I have given you. And be sure of this: I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” This reverts back again to the passage in Acts where is states in every nation, he accepts those who fear and obey him.

The passage in Romans discusses more how we will be judged according to what we have done, no other stipulations. Verse 10 of that passage states that there will be glory and honor and peace from God for all who do good, ending in the next verse stating that God doesn’t show favoritism. Verse 13 states that we need to do more than merely listen to the law, but obeying the law is what makes us right in his sight. At the end of that passage in verse 16, the author, Paul, declares, “And this is the message I proclaim-that the day is coming when God, through Christ Jesus, will judge everyone’s secret life.” Nothing is hidden from Christ, yet the blessing in this is, we will only be judged for what we have done and God loves us so immensely anyway.

I think its safe to say that as humans, we tend to play favorites and pick and choose. We are guilty of picking who we want to befriend or talked to based on a number of requirements and elements. A lesson we all need to learn and remember (pointed fingers definitely at me as well), is to not play favorites. I learned we need to be more concerned with carrying out this commission and telling others the great news we have to share with everyone despite who they are, where they come from, what job they hold, how they live their life or what sins they may have committed or are currently struggling with. God shows no favorites soooo why should we??

Leave a Reply

