#yolo

 

You only live once!!!! WHOOP WHOOP!

Actually, through Christ you live twice. Waddup.

You see what had happened was….you have your “earthly” life (ya know the one where your momma gave birth to you). Then you live AGAIN when you decide to die to yourself and give your life over to God.

Yup. Mind blown.

But here’s the catch: you must turn from your sinful ways, take up your cross daily and live for the Lord. Luke 9:23 defines this by saying, “Then he said to the crowd, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross daily and follow me.” Romans 12:1-2 states how we need to give our lives over to Christ [And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice-the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him. Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.]

As Jon Randles, the speaker at my college ministry’s worship service put it tonight, we need to trust fall into God and his plan-take the great leap of faith.

On the flip side of this. We have this chance for an amazing life if you put God in the driver’s seat versus the back seat! We are only here on Earth for a short amount of time. We pass people every day, do we take the opportunity to love on them? Do we tell people around us how we feel about them or how much we appreciate them?

God’s been doing a number on me this week. He’s been showing me I can’t always be “Rachel the Rock”-the girl who shows no emotion if something’s bugging her. For years I’ve tried to be a rock for myself and others around me, but it has caused me to get where I show no emotion at all. That’s not how God intended us to live. I need to be more open to the people around me, my friends and family, the new people I meet and let people see how I feel.

I’ve had the unfortunate experience last year and this year of helping people very close to me through tragic deaths of people taken too soon in life. If anything, it’s taught me one thing: do not take life for granted. You’re not promised tomorrow. We have been reborn in Christ and have an amazing story to tell and an awesome life to live. SO GIVE LIVE IT. Be here and now. Be present.

God’s teaching me to get over my fears of getting out of my bubble. I have this really stupid and irrational fear of doing things because I think it would be awkward or make things awkward. Well, now I realize that’s a lame excuse for not doing something, and as hard as it may be, I’m going to do my best to get over that and not be afraid to talk to people. So what if it is awkward- what if it’s worth it? Would I rather sit and wonder what could have happened and regret a missed opportunity, or possibly have a two second acca-awkward moment for something that could end up being pretty cool??

Nope. No more fear for this chick (hopefully haha). It’s new and scary, but I’m going to try my best and not live in fear anymore and not let fear and anxiety hold me back from really living the life God’s got in store for me. Stay tuned, I’ll keep ya updated on how it goes haha!

Thanks for the read! I challenge you to get over that sin or fear that’s holding you back!! GO LIVE LIFE. Because guess what, it really is yolo-you only live once, we’re on this Earth for a limited time-how are you spending it??

Leave a Reply

