#selfiesunday: Take a Good Long Look in the Mirror

Selfies. One of many trending hot fads today. Instgram and Twitter hash tags, precursored by Facebook, and before that MySpace (#throwbackthursday #omg). I digress haha. We take so many pictures of ourselves and friends, preserving memories and our outfit of the day, but do you ever really take a look at in the mirror or image on your camera. What’s inside those brown eyes you hash tag? What’s underneath, in the heart beneath that new top you just bought on sale? When was the last time you looked at your reflection and saw YOU?

Now if you’re like me, you may have “Reflection” from Mulan stuck in your head (I mean, you’re welcome). But there is some truth to those Disney magic words. “When will my reflection show who I am inside?”

c6d28ce9b3069f83c89c7e11446fa1f9

I believe it does. As believers and followers of Christ, Christ’s light shines through us. Like the children’s song, “this little light of mine, I’m gonna let it shine”. What’s on the inside comes out in your face, your eyes, your actions and your words. This has been a slap to the face for me these past few weeks. Literally, as I’m typing this , more and more ways are being revealed to me.

In my small group last week, we discussed our language. How what we say and how we say it is portrayal of what’s in our hearts. James 3:5-6 states “In the same way, the tongue is a small thing that makes grand speeches. But a tiny spark can set a great forest on fire. And the tongue is a flame of fire. It is a whole world of wickedness, corrupting your entire body. It can set your whole life on fire, for it is set on fire by hell itself.” Matthew 12:33-34 says, “For whatever is in your heart determines what you say.” The tongue is a powerful weapon that can be used for good or evil. As Spiderman says, “With great power comes great responsibility.” Same goes for yo tongue. Also, take a good hard look at WHAT you are saying as well as HOW you are saying it. Sarcasm. Big downfall for your girl here. My friends and I always joke that if people that didn’t know us heard our conversations, they’d think we were really mean. Its just us being sarcastic, but are you sure that’s how it’s coming across? Do people know you’re being sarcastic?

Get out the ice pack and get ready for slap in the face number 2. Retaliation. BOOM. Patience. POW. James 5:7-9-“Dear brothers and sisters, be patient as you wait for the Lord’s return. Consider the farmers who patiently wait for the rains in the fall and in the spring. They eagerly look for the valuable harvest to ripen. You, too, must be patient. Take courage for the coming of the Lord is near. Don’t grumble about each other, brothers and sisters, or you will be judged. For look-the Judge is standing at the door. ” The Word explicitly says to be patient-three times just in these few verses. Also, don’t grumble. We are to not act on making things just on our own. We ain’t the Avengers. Nick Fury ain’t callin you up to send you on a mission. It’s not our place to avenge those who’ve “done us wrong” and make things right. And as much as I love her, we can’t just go Miranda Lambert “Gunpowder and Lead” on anyone who hurts us or a friend of ours. Think of Christ like your Professor X and the things he’s equipped us with to use to combat these feeling like your X-Men. We are to be patient in trouble and keep on praying (Romans 12:13). We are to love each other with genuine affection and take delight in honoring each other (Romans 12:9). We are to bless those who persecute us and pray that God will bless them (Romans 12:14)-how’s that crow gonna taste?? Like vinegar, that’s how. We need to keep on focus on God, not achieving justice. It’s easy to get tangled up in the things of the world, like revenge, when you’re sights aren’t set higher that the world. Use these times to let God work on your character and change your heart.

193a9f682397ad3641df36c1078d50ffAssemble for God!! (haha see what I did there)

Personally, I’ve had the opportunity to have this inflicted on me this past week. Areas where I would have normally wanted to throw out some attitude and was even encouraged to remain skeptical and seek revenge, God really convicted me to not do so. (Hence, this blog post.) It’s so easy to want to pop some ‘tude and put people in their place. We are so quick to want to prove a point and give people a taste of their own medicine. Imagine if God did that to us. Imagine if every time we turned our backs on God and did something to hurt him if he retaliated against us? Like seriously, we would all be dead or dealing with swarms of locusts or the Earth flooding over again. Look at Peter and Judas in the Bible-Peter denied Jesus three times and Judas turned Him in. They were some of his best friends. What if your best friends did that to you? Could you be that gracious and continue loving them?? I don’t know about you, but I for one am quite extremely thankful that God loves us so much that he doesn’t retaliate against us, because I can’t say with complete confidence that I could. God will handle everything in our lives, we just need to keep our eyes on Him and obey and we’re good to go.

God has put a big ole mirror in front of me this week and forced me to take a good hard look at myself, and honestly I wasn’t happy with what I saw. He’s really convicted me of these areas and what I need to work on. This week has been liberating I guess you could say. I hope you take a look in the mirror and pray that God shows you what needs to change in your life for you to get closer to Him. I leave you with these last and final words of wisdom: Check yo self before you wreck yo self.
Have a fabulous week everyone!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

