The Waiting Game

In response to my last post, I’m discovering the beauty of what I’m deeming “the waiting game”. I’m discovering how to wait for God’s timing, and not rush things. What’s the hurry anyway, right?

I’ve found I’m so quick to try and react to things and be proactive or make things happen because I’m afraid I’ll miss an opportunity. NEWS FLASH: If it’s in God’s plan for your life, you won’t miss anything. If you’re slowing down because you’re deciding to focus more on something else, God will lead you back to where you need to be or if you’re running towards him, causing something to be delayed, he will put a door stop in that open door to keep it open for when you get there.

In my discipleship this week, my memory verse was Ecclesiastes 3:11-Yet God has made everything beautiful for its own time. He has planted eternity in the human heard, but even so, we cannot see the whole scope of God’s work from beginning to end. God has made everything beautiful and complete in its own timing-aka His timing. We cannot see beyond what God allows us to see, the verse directly says we will not be able to, so why do we try?? Because we are impatient and crazy humans, that’s why. I’ve learned something about myself-I can either know nothing or know everything, I can’t know just a piece of something. It drives me bonkers. Life for real, yo. So basically, I just need to come to the realization that I know nothing. I know what God’s showing me right now and that’s it. I need to quit searching for answers to the future.

Now back to the issue at hand-learning to wait. God’s shown me that while waiting, we should be chasing after God, keeping our eyes set on Him (Hebrews 12:1-2). We need to be content with where we are, who we are in Christ, and be living out our faith where we are right now. Also in my discipleship we read through James 2. In that chapter in verses 14-26 it hones in on how faith without deeds is dead. Our faith is a faith of love. Love is an action. We need to be doing these good deeds, because like verse 14 says, what good is it to have faith but not show it-that saves nobody. Or as it discusses in verse 26, just as our bodies are dead without breath, out faith is dead without works. Here’s how we can be proactive: we can be proactive on what God’s telling us and when we see a need, we can try and meet it. We can be a do-er not just a reader of the word.

The definition of wait (according to Merriam-Webster) is: to stay in place until an unexpected event happens, until someone arrives, until it is your turn to do something. Ok…seriously… slap to da face. Let’s break this down:
-To stay in place until an unexpected event happens: stay put (what has God been convicting me of-uhhhh THIS). Stay in place and keep on keepin on until an unexpected event happens. As much as sometimes I wish there were, there is no God Magic 8 Ball that you can ask a question, shake and it give you the answer, God don’t roll like that. There’s no calendar or app you can get that will tell you when God’s going to move. Back to the unexpected event: God works in mysterious ways and uses unique circumstances to make His presence known. We won’t know when or what, He’ll just do it, Nike style.
-Until someone arrives: This could be taken as wait until God arrives, wait until Prince Charming (or Mrs. Right for the male readers) arrives, or wait until the person who God will use to give you His answer to arrive. Sometimes we have to wait for God to arrive, but never fails, He will arrive. Like a boss, He does what He wants when He wants. This could be applied to waiting for Mr. Right to show up or for you to know that the guy you’re currently with is in fact Mr. Right. Finally, God uses people, whether it be a friend saying something you needed to hear, a preacher that God speaks to you through their sermon, or someone who has a been through a similar experience that can guide you and disciple you through it. We all need that Yoda, Jiminy Cricket figure to help guide us along sometimes.
-Until it is your turn to do something: Again, slap in the face. Just because everyone else is doing things right now does not mean it is your time. For example, entering into a relationship, going abroad on missions, discovering exactly what you want to do in life, etc. College is rough in this aspect. At age 20, you’re expected to be “getting serious” with dating and looking for a hubby (no pressure there on us ladies or the poor dudes for that matter); as a leader in a ministry, you’re expected to use your vacation times to go abroad on missions, and finally, you’re expected to be figuring you’re life out and know what you want to do and where you want to end up. This is would be a d).none of the above for me right now. It’s not that I haven’t tried all of these things and haven’t made an effort (in fact, I have been trying that’s probably the problem, it just simply hasn’t been in God’s timing for me yet. I have to wait for my turn to do something. It’s like kindergarten all over again.

future

This waiting game may not be the funnest, but it is how God builds your endurance and deepens your faith. Through all of this, He is teaching me about Him, how He works, about myself and growing my love for Him. My dad always says before we go on a trip (typically because we always forget something), that the longer it takes you to get somewhere, the more fun you’ll have once you’re there. I think that’s pretty applicable to life actually. The longer you have to wait for something, the more you’ll appreciate and enjoy it once you’ve achieved it. Today’s society is all about instant gratification (I blame microwaves and On Demand movies). God doesn’t work like that. He’s not a God of instant gratification. He’s the marathon runner, not the sprinter-here to go the distance. To quote Hercules-can you go the distance? I choose to meet this challenge head on and accept the terms and conditions to playing this waiting game. I’ll keep you posted!

Thanks for the read! Hope yall have a great week! Let me know how I can be praying for ya!

Leave a Reply

