New Year, Renewed Life

God breathes life into us. Without him, we are nothing but dry bones.

As I read Ezekiel 37:1-14, this really began to resonate with me. Literally we are nothing without God.

In the beginning of the chapter, it states how we are scattered, blown around, and completely dry. To me, this takes on a worldly perspective. We’re so easily blown around and taken on by things that distract us or that we get involved with, and just by life itself. We give all our time to these things until we are completely dry and there is nothing left but dry bones. The Lord breathes life back into us and makes us live again. As it says in verse 5, He will “put breath into you, and you will come to life”. Continuing on in the chapter, skeletons are literally coming to life. It’s like Nightmare Before Christmas up in Ezekiel 37 yall. But seriously, how amazing is that?! In verse 10 it says, “They all came to life and stood up on their feet-a great army”. They came to life and stood as a great army. The army of God. That’s us! Now I haven’t heard that God has brought a body back from the dead in a few thousand years, but I have seen Him bring people who were dead inside back to life (he did it to your girl here). In the last paragraph of the passage, the Lord says that He will put his Spirit in us and we will live again and return home and that we will be free of our graves of exile and rise again (v.14, 12).

ea00a4ef49dd77be2838b48efba8dc7e

The song above, “Desert Soul” by Rend Collective Experiment, has become one of my favorites songs of the moment. I’ve kind of made it my resolution to live by this song. Incidentally enough (cough cough *divine intervention maybe?!*) this passage in Ezekiel popped up during my Jesus date the other day and practically lays this song out. I’d never really stopped and though about this much. We are literally nothing but dry bones, a desert soul, until God arrives and gives us life. He breaths lives into us and puts us back together again. As the chapter states, our lives are scattered about and frankly just a hot mess so to speak, and God comes in, makes sense of it all, sort out our lives and pieces it back together like a puzzle.

This reminded of a verse in Isaiah that talks about how God is the potter and we are the clay. The verse (Isaiah 64:8) states, “And yet, O Lord, you are our Father. We are the clay, and you are the potter. We are all formed by your hand.”. Everything about us is designed and formed by God with his own hand. He forms us, sorts us out, and gives us a life of prosperity through him (Jeremiah 29:11).

21204ebe93f1ccd76b6553a1df95ec30

I got to thinking today over this song and these verses how I really want to live this out more and reflect on this more. God has given us life and I take it for granted. I forget what all He has done for me. My friend and I were talking the other day about New Year’s resolution and we remarked how we think they’re silly and if you want to make a resolution or change in your life, you should do it regardless of whether it’s a new year or not. In true human fashion, I’m about to be hypocritical and contradict what I said about New Year’s resolutions and make one, but mine is more of a “rest of my life resolution” I suppose. I resolve to life this truth that I’ve recently rediscovered.

The song lyrics say, “I love you God, but I want to love you more, I need you God, but I want to need you more, I’m lost without your creative spark in me, I’m dead inside unless you’re resurrection saves”. I resolve that I want to love God more and need Him more, be more thankful for his creativity in making me and resurrecting me to life. I am nothing without God and I wanted to remind myself of this and thank God for it everyday of my life. As Galatians 2:20 says, I have died to my old self and the new me is here because God has brought me back to life, just as Christ died in our sin and was brought back to life (Bible inception!).

What are your New Year’s resolutions this year? I challenge you to actually make on, but not one like try harder at school, go the gym more, drink less coke, etc., no, a real one. How can you better yourself this year and keep it up not just this year, but for every year?

Happy New Year everyone!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

