The Ultimate Valentine

As we all know, yesterday was Valentine’s Day (or as some not so fondly refer to it as-Single’s Awareness Day).

Truth-I’ve never had a valentine. Truth-I love Valentine’s Day. I know. As sick as it is and as much as it is a consumer driven holiday, I love it. Deep down, this cynic is a sap. I cannot deny. Don’t know why, I just like all the love in the air I suppose.

I spent my Valentine’s Day with my friends and my Savior. I started my afternoon with a Jesus date and ended it with a girls night/movie night full of pizza and ice cream (dinner of champs).

During my Jesus date, God was moving. I opened up to a passage that I have read before, and in fact have blogged about before (https://rachb415.wordpress.com/2014/01/17/pretty-woman-christian-edition/), so I kept flipping through my Bible to see what else God might have for the that moment. Three times. Three! I opened up to the same passage and basically said ok God, I get the picture and started reading. I am so glad I did.

When I last read this chapter (Ezekiel 16), God really laid on my heart how we commit spiritual prostitution. God has come in and saved us from who we were and where we were. He has immensely taken care of us (v.9-14). We are dressed in his “splendor” and our “beauty is perfected” (v.14) by Him. But we take these things that God has given us, whether it be our looks, talents, material belongings, etc. and we think they are ours, but that is not the case. Everything we have, everything we are is all because Christ in us. As it says in Philippians 1:21, to live is Christ. We are alive because of him, yet we take what He’s given us and give it out to the world and worldly things.

But you thought your fame and beauty were your own. So you gave yourself as a prostitute to every man who came along. Your beauty was theirs for the asking. You used the lovely things I gave to you to make shrines for idols, where you played the prostitute. Unbelievable! How could such a thing ever happen? You took the very jewels and gold and silver ornaments I had given you and made statues of men and worshipped them. This is adultery against me! -Ezekiel 16: 15-17

We have not only prostituted ourselves out to whatever happens to blow our way, but we have committed adultery with God. We have cheated on God. Let that sink in for a minute.

The chapter continues on with Ezekiel reminding the Israelites who they have committed prostitution with (allowing us to remind ourselves of all the beds we’ve left our boots under-school, work,…). Then comes the slap in the face.

Prostitutes charge for their service-but not you! You give gifts to your lovers, bribing them to come and have sex with you. So you are the opposite of other prostitutes. You pay your lovers instead of their paying you! -Ezekiel 16: 33-34

We not only let these things take precedence in our lives, but we give to them without getting anything back in return. And we wonder why we are never satisfied and feel empty? These things do not fulfill. Only God can, and thankfully, despite our unfaithfulness and adultery, He will.

Now this is what the Sovereign Lord says: I will give you what you deserve, for you have taken your solemn vows lightly by breaking your covenant. Yet I will remember the covenant I made with you when you were young, and I will establish an everlasting covenant with you. -Ezekiel 16: 59-60

He will still remember His promise. He will still remember His vows. Verse 62 states that He will reaffirm this covenant with us. That’s three times in one paragraph that He says He will remember His covenant with you and won’t forget what He has promised. I think He means it. How awesome is that?!

Something weighed on my heart lately is that we are in a relationship with God. It’s not a one way street. Christianity is not holding God’s hand as He skips with you down the yellow brick road to eternity. It’s a two way street. God’s laid the deal on the table, whether you take it is up to you. We must pursue Him as He pursues us. We invite Him in-let Him see us naked and vulnerable and let Him cover us with Christ’s blood and give us the delicacies He has in store for us (Ezekiel 16: 1-14).

I don’t know about you, but I have put so many things before God that leave me temporarily satisfied. These one night stands with elements of the world give me nothing in return. I forget that I’ve made a vow with God. We are the bride of Christ, and sometimes its like I just happen to slip that ring off my finger for the sake of school, friends, family, or whatever appears to be of importance at the time.

And when I passed by again, I saw that you were old enough for love. So I wrapped my cloak around you to cover your nakedness and declared my marriage vows. I made a covenant with you, says the Sovereign Lord, and you became mine.” -Ezekiel 16:8

God came in, the Savior He his, wrapped His love around us and made us His bride. We are His. Not the world’s, not our job’s, not our life’s agenda-His.

With giving my time, energy, etc. to this list of other things (which aren’t all bad, but when placed before God, they’re just as bad as anything else), I’m essentially cheating on God with the world and the sad part is, I’m doing it with things that He has given me. That would be like cheating on your husband in the home he paid for. God sees we do this too! It’s like Big Brother is watching-He sees us committing this spiritual prostitution. He sees us giving ourselves away when we’ve already been bought with the ultimate price. I wonder how that must make God feel? Its like if we gave someone a gift to a loved one that we spent our life savings on and then they broke it off piece by piece like in Mean Girls when she breaks the crown and gave those pieces away for free to strangers that meant something to them for just a minute and then those strangers ended up breaking our loved one’s heart. That’s essentially what we’re doing by putting things before God. Yet God still pursues us. That is true love. God is the ultimate valentine.

I’ve been looking at God as a loving, over looking Father, not a lover, when He is both. I’ve missed a critical part of who He is. I have been an unfaithful wife. I feel like lately I’ve gone through marriage counseling with God and He’s shown me what I’ve been doing. I’ve put more importance in getting homework done, spending time with friends, taking “me” time by reading, watching movies, etc. instead of giving time to my prayer life and getting to known the heart of God and pursuing Him as He has pursued me. I’m not ashamed of this marriage, so why should I keep it under wraps and not pursue it?? I’m now on lifelong mission of falling in love with God and His heart.

In the words of Buddy the Elf:

This is how we should be about this marriage. We should want to be so in love with God that we want to tell the world. We should want to share the gospel with everyone we meet. I mean, it as after all at the core of who we are!

Happy post Valentine’s Day everyone! Love yall and thank you for the read!

Leave a Reply

