Freedom Friday! Remember the Scandal. Remember the Love.

As I’m reading through the Bible chronologically, a common theme is remembering what the Lord has done for you. It got me thinking about all the things that the Lord has done for me and my testimony. Then it got me thinking about what He’s done for all of us, ya know the big thing that He did, you know send His Son to be our sacrifice. Let that sink in for a minute. I feel like we so easily just read straight over the gospel and treat the fact that Jesus DIED for us as no big thing.

I’m reading Matt Chandler’s book “The Explicit Gospel” right now with a group of friends (if you haven’t read it, do so!!!). While reading this and thinking about Easter this weekend, I’m reminded and burdened to share what Christ has done. God displayed a scandalous grace. He sent his son to pay the price for all of our sins. Every sin that everyone is the history of Earth has committed and will commit. He died a criminal’s murder and the arguably the most excruciating execution a person can face. Then three days later, He defeated what was once undefeatable-death, and will make His glorious debut back on Earth someday again.

As Christians (speaking from my own experience here and what I have done myself), we don’t stew on this enough. We blow over the gospel because we know it. We don’t stop and remember what God has done and the sacrifice Jesus made. What’s the whole point as to why we are here and doing what we’re doing and believe what we believe? Jesus paying it all! I did not let this resonate with me daily and drive me in my daily walk through life. As I’ve been digging into God’s word and remembering what He’s done for me personally, I’m reminded what He did for us all.

Scandalous: an occurrence in which people are shocked and upset because the behavior is morally or legally wrong; something that is shocking, upsetting, or unacceptable
What Jesus did was scandalous. Matthew 27:39 says the people passing by [at the crucifixion] shouted abuse, shaking their heads in mockery. Mark 15 talks about a mob shouting “Crucify him!” Luke 23: 18 speaks of a mighty roar coming from the crowd. John 19 also talks about how they yelled for them to take him away. Obviously, the general public was in a little bit of a tizzy of Jesus at the time of His crucifixion. I’d say that fits the definition of what a scandal might look like. On the flip side of that, He died to save us fo free.

Yep for free. Sound good to you? Romans 6:14 says that you are no longer sins master, instead we you live under the freedom of God’s grace. Ephesians 2:8 says that we are saved through God’s grace and that it is a gift from Him. I’d say being an innocent man deciding to pay for everything everyone in the history of life would do, paying that debt, giving you salvation and wanting only in return for you to quit living life in the bondage of sin and turn and follow Him would constitute as pretty shocking, out of the ordinary and scandalous action as well.

Psalm 105:5: “Remember the wonders he has performed, his miracles, and he rulings he has given,”
Psalm 77:11: “But then I recall all you have done, O Lord; I remember your wonderful deeds long ago.”
Deuteronomy 29:29: “The Lord our God has secrets known to no one. We are accountable for them, but we and our children are accountable forever for all that he has revealed to us, so that we may obey all the terms of these instructions.”
1 Chronicles 16:15: “Remember his covenant forever-the commitment he made to a thousand generations.”
Isaiah 46:9: “Remember the things I have done in the past. For I alone am God! I am God, and there in none like me.”

Time and time again scripture tells us to remember what God has done. Don’t dwell in the past, but embrace the grace God has granted you through His son. As one of my favorite worship jams says, Jesus paid it all, and all I owe.

25516ceb895ba70039c5656a2d625a7b

A trend today is to have days named, like “Throwback Thursday”, “Meow Mondays”, etc. Well here in the Lone Star State, we have “Free Texas Friday”. I say we re-write in honor of Good Friday. Freedom Friday. Freedom from sin, freedom from our past. And another Texas re-write, instead of “Remember Goliad. Remember the Alamo”, remember the scandal, remember the love.

Embrace the free gift. Join in the glorification of His name and making it great. Celebrate Freedom Friday and remember the scandal and remember the love. It’s there for you. All you have to do is open it and let Him in. Happy Easter everyone! Love yall!

Leave a Reply

