The Impossible Man

Alrighty so I’m a Doctor Who fan. I recently just finished up season 7 with Clara-the Impossible Girl-as the Doctor’s current companion. As I was writing my last post about how nothing about Jesus humanly makes sense and the impossible is possible with him, it got me thinking about how he is our Impossible Man, just as Clara is the Doctor’s Impossible Girl. Allow me to explain.

WARNING. If you have not seen Season 7-do not continue to read. Spoilers!!

Exhibit A:
Clara was everywhere. Jesus is everywhere. Just as with the Doctor, any pickle we find ourselves in, Jesus is there and always has been. We don’t always realize it, but as we look back-you can see His hand in your life and all up in that business. That is a huge part of my testimony. I did not give God the time of day, but as I glance back on life now, I realize He was there the whole time and always will be.
Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. -Joshua 1:9
‘I will also walk among you and be your God, and you shall be My people. -Leviticus 26:12
“The LORD is the one who goes ahead of you; He will be with you He will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.” – Deuteronomy 31:8
…I am with you always, even to the end of the age. -Matthew 28:20

Exhibit B:
Clara’s purpose was to save the Doctor. Jesus’ is our Savior, saving us from our sins. Jesus was born to be the Savior of the world.
For unto us a child is born, to us a son is given; and the government shall be upon His shoulder, and His name shall be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. -Isaiah 9:6
For God so love the world that He gave His one and only son, so that whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have everlasting life. -John 3:16
God made Him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in Him we might become the righteousness of God. -2 Corinthians 5:12
When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. -Isaiah 43:2

clara

Exhibit C:
There is no logical explanation as to why Clara should have still been alive. Since she jumped into the Doctor’s time stream thingy, it should have ripped her to pieces, but she survived to save to the Doctor. There is not a logical explanation as to why Jesus should be alive. He was given a criminal’s death-crucified on a cross and stabbed in the side just to make sure the deed had been done. Yet, three days later He rose again and is now seated in heaven next to His father and He’ll make his grand entrance back to Earth oen day.
He is not here; he has risen! Remember how he told you, while he was still with you in Galilee:  ‘The Son of Man must be delivered into the hands of sinful men, be crucified and on the third day be raised again.’ -Luke 24:6-7
After the Lord Jesus had spoken to them, he was taken up into heaven and he sat at the right hand of God. -Mark 16:19
Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also. -John 14:1-3
He who testifies to these things says, “Yes, I am coming soon.” Amen. Come, Lord Jesus. -Revelation 22:10

glorious day

Nothing about Jesus is scientifically, humanly speaking “logical”. We serve an “impossible” Lord who can do the impossible. He was born from a virgin mother. He’s defeated the undefeatable-death. He loves us unconditionally, enough to die an undeserved death and take the punishment for the world’s sins. The Doctor had Clara, his impossible girl. We’ve got Jesus, our Impossible Man. I don’t know about you, but I’ll take it!

 

Leave a Reply

