Fruit Bearing Involves Cross Bearing Part 1: Self Control

Last weekend I went to a training weekend for small group leaders in my college ministry. In one of our sessions, we briefly talked about the fruit of the spirit and it got me thinking more about them. Some of them are pretty self explanatory and easy to comprehend and apply, but others, not so much. I decided to dig into them and really spend my Jesus date time researching and looking up what the Bible has to say about each. I started from the back of the list because I feel like they all kind of work up to love and amount to love (I will explain reasoning later).

So to start this shindig off *drum roll please*….SELF CONTROL.

I sometimes really struggle with this one. In some areas I have great self control, but in others, heck to da no. I’ve noticed when I get out of routine, it throws me off and my self control becomes zero. To be truthful, right before school started it was awful. I wasn’t in a regular routine and I had just started living alone. When I get into these ruts, I’m really bad about keeping myself accountable. I need to learn to keep myself accountable and have self discipline even when I’m out of my routine and on my own. (God is already teaching me a lot through living alone this year-shout out to my college sistas, I recommend living solo at some point!) This was probably my least favorite fruit to take a bite out of (pun intended) because I know I struggle with it and I know I need to work on it. Living alone makes this really hard, because lemme tell ya, it is really easy to sit and watch movies and Netflix and do nothing. And when that happens, its easy to fall into old sins.

Self-control: control over your own feelings or actions; restraint exercised over one’s own impulse, emotions or desire

Actions and feelings.

Here are some verses I found on actions:

1 Peter 1:13-21, 2 Timothy 4:5
We need to carry out what god wants us to do. To see Him, we need to think clearly and to do so, we need self control.

Proverbs 25:28
Without self control, we are all over the place. Busted up.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27
When God’s pushing you to run, if you stop and show no self control, you’ll get run over but the world. Been there, done that my friend.

1 Peter 4:7
Pray fool.

1 Peter 5:8
The enemy is waiting for you to be not self controlled and waiting for the window to jump through and mess things up.

*Side note* By having no self control, things in life effect you more than they should because you’re not grounded in Christ. You lose faith and take things on your own shoulders. The world seems big, heavy and scary and it runs you over-like Indiana Jones with that big rock. Then you have near panic attacks…ain’t nobody got time for that.

Aight time for self control with the feels:

Philippians 4:6-7
When you are not self controlled about talking to the big man about things and jump in too quick, trust me….it does not end favorably.

Romans 12:2
The world says go with your heart and what you feel, but the Bible says your heart is ratchet and evil…so no.

Galatians 5:16-24
When you are not practicing self control, you susceptible to falling into your sinful nature head and heart first.

Ecclesiastes 3:4
On the flip side, when you’re not vulnerable and embrace emotions at the right time, they build up until you explode and the waterworks start after you see a picture of a cute puppy or a sad quote or something. There is a time for the feels…just don’t let them control you.

In summation, when you’re not putting self control into play, things go awry. Personally, little thing effect me more because I don’t deal with them properly. I don’t take everything to Christ. I need to nail these struggle bus tickets to the cross. I can’t take up my own cross, it’s too big for me to bear, that’s why Jesus did this for me. Now I die to myself everyday because without crucifixion, there can be no resurrection. This has to be a choice I make every day. I have to practice that self control with my actions and feelings, and can through the Holy Spirit taking up residence in me.

Leave a Reply

