OOTD: Closet Clean-Out

Hello readers! Ok so I’m starting a new blog series: OOTD. If you are new to the social media world, this acronym means “Outfit of the Day”. I will now be posting everything I wear everyday, where it came from, and how much I paid for it.

Just kidding!!

But really, lately God has been doing a number on me, let me tell you what. He’s been putting pieces together left and right when it comes to right now and the future and we’ve just been rockin’n’rollin. In this, He’s shown me things that I need to be “putting on” as a growing disciple and Christ like characteristics to be striving to “wear” everyday. Guys, keep trekking with me, I promise this is not going to be totally girl focused and I will not make too many girly references. I’m going to be digging into a few things in this series God’s shown me that we need to try and “wear”, where in the Bible they came from, and how these were purchased

Before we can be throwing things on and packing the closet with new traits, we need to clean out the mess that’s already there. Because let’s be real, there’s a mess. A hot one. Just in case this is new information for you, we are human. I know, shut the front door right?! And in this human life we live, we have an inclination towards sin and messiness. Romans 3:23 says we have all sinned and all fall short of the glory of God. We done messed up A-aron, but because Christ died on the cross and rose again, this messiness was Bounty quicker picker upper wiped clean. Those outward sins become not so troublesome for us anymore. We still sin, but the public sins of the past are just that, sins of the past. The outside of the closet looks pretty now, but its time to open up the closet doors and let Christ come in and clean up the inside.

I’m currently reading through Ezekiel in my quiet times. In chapter 8, it details a vision the Lord gives Ezekiel about the Israelites. Here’s the passage that stood out to me the most that I want to hone in on in this post:

“The Lord said to me, “Son of man, look toward the north.” I looked to the north, and there was this offensive statue north of the altar gate, at the entrance. He said to me, “Son of man, do you see what they are doing, the great abominations that the house of Israel is committing here, so that I must depart from My sanctuary? You will see even greater abominations.” Then He brought me to the entrance of the court, and when I looked there was a hole in the wall. He said to me, “Son of man, dig through the wall.” So I dug through the wall, and there was a doorway. He said to me, “Go in and see the terrible abominations they are committing here.” I went in and looked, and there engraved all around the wall was every form of detestable thing, crawling creatures and beasts, as well as all the idols of the house of Israel. -Ezekiel 8: 5-10

Ok, so let’s break this down (keep in mind, this is just what I gathered and what God showed me-go read it for yourself and let God speak to you). Basically, Ezekiel can see what the Israelites are doing, how they’re doing life and it isn’t pretty yall. Many people will be able to outwardly see what we’re doing and what our known struggles and sins are. These will be messy and “abominations”, but the greater abominations are the deeper stains. Ezekiel going through the wall and secret doorway made me think of the whole “behind closed doors” metaphor. Things that go on in our hearts that only us and God know about, sometimes only God. We all have those secret sins. We are born with human hearts. The walls are “engraved” with detestable things and our hearts provide residence for the idols we set in our lives. To keep with our analogy, our closets are filled with clothes that don’t fit our God renewed hearts, but we hang onto them for various reasons; we don’t know how to give them up, we like the way they feel, we’re scared, we’re addicted, etc. Thankfully, Romans 5:6 tells us that, “For while we were still helpless, at the appointed moment, Christ died for the ungodly.” and Romans 5:8 says, “But God proves His own love for us in the while we were still sinners, Christ died for us!” While we were still sinners. Jesus didn’t wait for you to clean out your closet before He decided to come over for a forever visit. He volunteered His cleaning services out of sheer love for us. You have His business card (the Bible), He has the highest recommendation (God and the testimonies of generations of believers), and God’s cleaning services are pre-paid (Jesus’ blood). There’s nothing too messy for Him to clean up either. There’s nothing hidden in the dark corners of the closet of your heart that Christ can’t free you from. His love is the greatest stain remover. Satisfaction guaranteed.

2  cor 5 17
The offers on the table, whether you take it is up to you. Jesus is in the business making things new, searching your heart and showing you what needs to go. Let Him in. Embrace the gift of grace. Let Him come in and work His gospel goodness in your life.

Leave a Reply

